Workshop of the Working Group on the Long-term Sustainability of Outer Space Activities

Revised Programme - 6 February, 2024¹

Introduction

In accordance with its multi-year workplan (see A/AC.105/1258, annex II, appendix, para. 18), the Working Group on the Long-term Sustainability of Outer Space Activities is holding a three-hour workshop during the sixty-first session of the Scientific and Technical Subcommittee (A/AC.105/1279, annex II, para. 9).

The workshop is aimed at raising awareness of the long-term sustainability of outer space activities and supporting capacity-building and it also represents an opportunity to collect views from entities that might not normally participate directly in the work of the Working Group (A/AC.105/1279, annex II, para. 13).

The workshop's programme was developed by the Chair of the Working Group, with the support of the Secretariat, based on nominations received from Working Group members, with the aim of incorporating diverse views and taking into account gender and geographic balance among panellists (A/AC.105/1279, annex II, para. 12) and is based on the three topics agreed by the Working Group, namely regulatory and policy aspects, safety of space operations and scientific and technical research (see A/78/20, para. 143).

The abstracts of the panellists and written contributions supporting the workshop are found on the website of the Officer for Outer Space Affairs (<u>www.unoosa.org</u>).

The views expressed during the workshop are those of the panellists and other participants and are not the formal positions of States (A/AC.105/1279, annex II, para. 13).

Programme²

Welcome remarks

• Umamaheswaran R., Chair of the Working Group on the Long-term Sustainability of Outer Space Activities and moderator of the workshop

Panel 1 - Regulatory and policy aspects

- Mr. Jesús Roberto Romero Ruiz, Deputy Director of Space Security at the Mexican Space Agency (AEM)
- Mr. Kwanwoo Jung, Director at the Ministry of Science and Information Communications Technologies, Republic of Korea
- Mr. Vasily Gudnov, Head of the Multilateral Cooperation Division of the International Cooperation Department at the State Space Corporation "Roscosmos"
- Ms. Joanne Wheeler, Founder and Director the Earth & Space Sustainability Initiative, Co-Founder and Chair of the Satellite Finance Network, Deputy Chair of the National Space Centre, Chair of the National Space Academy Steering Board (panellist nominated by the United Kingdom)

¹ The workshop will take place at the Vienna International Centre from 3:00 to 6:00 p.m. CET. In-person participation in the workshop is open to all delegates accredited to the sixty-first session of the Scientific and Technical Subcommittee. The workshop will be interpreted into all six official languages of the United Nations, as well as publicly webcast.

 $^{^2}$ Each panel will consist of presentations of not more than 8 minutes each, to be followed by interactive discussions.

Panel 2 - Safety of space operations

- Mr. Pascal Faucher, Programme Manager Security, Centre National D'Etudes Spatiales (CNES)
- Mr. Ajimandiram K. Nair Anilkumar, Associate Director, Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC), Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), India Vice President, International Astronautical Federation
- Mr. Sittiporn Channumsin, Acting Director of the Space Technology Development Office from the Geo-Informatics and Space Technology Development Agency (GISTDA) of Thailand
- Mr. Srinivas J. Setty, Director Product and Operations at NorthStar Earth & Space Europe S.à r.l. (panellist nominated by Luxembourg)
- Ms. Audrey Schaffer, Vice President of Strategy and Policy at Slingshot Aerospace (panellist nominated by the United States of America)

Panel 3 - Scientific and technical research

- Mr. Michel Doyon, Manager Flight Operations, Canadian Space Agency
- Mr. Thomas Schildknecht, Director of the Swiss Optical Ground Station and Geodynamics Observatory Zimmerwald, Vice-Director of the Astronomical Institute of the University of Bern, Switzerland
- Mr. Ernst K. Pfeiffer, Managing Director of HPS GmbH (panellist nominated by Germany)
- Ms. Aya Iwamoto, Vice President, Policy and Government Relations at Astroscale Japan Inc. (panellist nominated by Japan)

Concluding remarks

• Umamaheswaran R., Chair of the Working Group on the Long-term Sustainability of Outer Space Activities