

Distr.: Limited 26 August 2021

Original: English

Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space Sixty-fourth session Vienna, 25 August–3 September 2021

Draft report

Chapter I

Introduction

1. The Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space held its sixty-fourth session in Vienna from 25 August to 3 September 2021, in a hybrid format (in person and online). The officers of the Committee were as follows:

Chair	Marius-Ioan Piso (Romania)
First Vice-Chair	Francis Chizea (Nigeria)
Second Vice-Chair/Rapporteur	Nicolás Botero Varón (Colombia)

A. Meetings of subsidiary bodies

2. The Scientific and Technical Subcommittee of the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space held its fifty-eighth session in Vienna from 19 to 30 April 2021, in a hybrid format, with Natália Archinard (Switzerland) as Chair. The report of the Subcommittee was before the Committee (A/AC.105/1240).

3. The Legal Subcommittee of the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space held its sixtieth session in Vienna from 31 May to 11 June 2021, also in a hybrid format, with Aoki Setsuko (Japan) as Chair. The report of the Subcommittee was before the Committee (A/AC.105/1243).

B. Adoption of the agenda

- 4. At its opening meeting, the Committee adopted the following agenda:
 - 1. Opening of the session.
 - 2. Adoption of the agenda.
 - 3. Statement by the Chair.
 - 4. General exchange of views.
 - 5. Ways and means of maintaining outer space for peaceful purposes.





- 6. Report of the Scientific and Technical Subcommittee on its fifty-eighth session.
- 7. Report of the Legal Subcommittee on its sixtieth session.
- 8. Space and sustainable development.
- 9. Spin-off benefits of space technology: review of current status.
- 10. Space and water.
- 11. Space and climate change.
- 12. Use of space technology in the United Nations system.
- 13. Future role and method of work of the Committee.
- 14. Space exploration and innovation.
- 15. "Space2030" agenda.
- 16. Other matters.
- 17. Report of the Committee to the General Assembly.

C. Membership

5. In accordance with General Assembly resolutions 1472 A (XIV), 1721 E (XVI), 3182 (XXVIII), 32/196 B, 35/16, 49/33, 56/51, 57/116, 59/116, 62/217, 65/97, 66/71, 68/75, 69/85, 71/90, 72/77 and 74/82 and decisions 45/315, 67/412, 67/528, 70/518 and 73/517, the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space was composed of the following 95 States: Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lebanon, Libya, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Viet Nam.

D. Attendance

6. Representatives of the following [...] States members of the Committee attended the session: Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).

7. The session was attended by representatives of the European Union, in its capacity as permanent observer of the Committee and in accordance with General Assembly resolutions 65/276 and 73/91.

8. Observers for the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific of the Secretariat (ESCAP), the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the Office for Disarmament Affairs of the Secretariat and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) attended the session.

9. The session was attended by observers for the following intergovernmental organizations having permanent observer status with the Committee: Asia-Pacific Space Cooperation Organization (APSCO), European Organization for Astronomical Research in the Southern Hemisphere (ESO), European Space Agency (ESA), European Telecommunications Satellite Organization (EUTELSAT-IGO), Inter-Islamic Network on Space Sciences and Technology (ISNET) and International Organization of Space Communications (Intersputnik).

10. The session was also attended by observers for the following non-governmental organizations having permanent observer status with the Committee: CANEUS International, European Space Policy Institute, For All Moonkind, Ibero-American Institute of Aeronautic and Space Law and Commercial Aviation, International Astronautical Federation (IAF), International Astronomical Union (IAU), International Law Association (ILA), International Organization for Standardization (ISO), International Space University (ISU), Moon Village Association (MVA), National Space Society (NSS), Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW), Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP), Secure World Foundation (SWF), Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC) and University Space Engineering Consortium-Global (UNISEC-Global).

11. A list of representatives of States members of the Committee, United Nations entities and other organizations attending the session is contained in A/AC.105/2021/INF/[...].

E. General statements

[...]

F. Adoption of the report of the Committee

12. After considering the various items before it, the Committee, at its [...] meeting, on [...] September 2021, adopted its report to the General Assembly containing the recommendations and decisions set out below.